top of page
DSC_0142 (3)-1.JPG

Board of Deacons

"But among you it will be different. Whoever wants to be a leader among you must be your servant..." Matthew 20:26 (NLT)

The Greek verb, diakoneo,” from which the word “deacon” is derived, is translated to mean “to administer, “to minister,” and/or “to serve.” This function of service is used to describe the work of disciples as well as others in the early church. Literally, it means “to run an errand.” Deacon is used to refer to all who serve in this important position in a church—both male and female, deacon and deaconess. 


The New Testament contains several references to deacons including Act 6, Philippians 1:1, 1 Timothy 3: 8-10 and 12-13, and Romans 16:1. The function implied in Acts 6 involved both ministry at the tables for the good of the church and the ministry of prayer and the Word. In Matthew 25: 42-44, “diakoneo” covers various services for the needy. In Romans 15:25, Paul is seen serving the poor in Jerusalem by receiving a collection for them. This service comes into view repeatedly. Taken together, the uses of the word point to a Christian effort to meet the whole range of human need—physical, emotional, and spiritual.

The chief duty of a Providence deacon is to assist the co-pastor of our church. When the deacons carry out their chief duty successfully, it frees up the co-pastors for graver responsibilities. Deacons assist with the ordinance of Baptism and the Lord’s Supper. They also sponsor candidates for membership, oversee the members of the church, provide spiritual leadership in all phases of church activity, and perform any service that supports the co-pastor and the work of the church.

Learn more about the Auxiliary to the Board of Deacons here

Active Deacons

Deacon Denise Ruffin, Chair

Deacon Jacqueline Best, Vice-chair

Deacon La Keita Carter, Secretary

Deacon Malcolm Evans, Treasurer

Deacon Myrtha Allen, Evangelism Committee Chair

Deacon Cynthia Bentley, Membership Committee Chair

Deacon Robert McCullough, Communion & Baptism Committee Chair

Deacon Tyree Gregory

Deacon Gregory Horne

Deacon Crisaudra King

Deacon Linda Simrel

Deacon-In-Training Monica Russum

Honorary Deacons

Deacon Thomasine Baskerville

Deacon Herbert Chew

Deacon William Davis

Deacon Clarence Smith

Honorary Deaconess

Deaconess Geraldine Henry

bottom of page